One of the iconic images of Sneem, D. O’Shea’s has been a Public House for over half a century and for much of this time was owned by the O’Shea family. In 1996, it was bought by Mary and Garbhan Kavanagh and extensively renovated inside. They have retained the colourful exterior which has been much photographed and used in advertisements and postcards. Inside is cosy and relaxed, serving the best of bar food throughout the day.
There is an extensive terrace out the back of the pub with fabulous views of the Sneem estuary.
Established in 1955, Dan and Daisy Kelly run the bakery, delicatessan and coffee shop alongside their daughter Mary and sons, Donal and Kevin. Now in his eighties, Dan still bakes and delivers fresh bread every day and they stock a wonderful selection of Irish cheeses in the deli.
Jenny Breen is your host in The Riverside Café with her father, Mick, helping front of house, while her mother Martina is enjoying her retirement after handing the reins to Jenny. With riverside frontage, the patio is a popular spot for breakfast and lunch with delicious homemade scones and cakes throughout the day.
Also known locally as Barbara’s, The Village Kitchen is now being run by her son Cormac and his partner Michelle. Barbara still provides a smiling welcome and bakes her famous scones and brown bread. The Village Kitchen has an extensive menu and is popular for breakfasts, lunches and snacks.